Blogger Recognition Award

award4

Yay! Yet another award….the Blogger Recognition Award by Neerja of Ametalk.

Not only is she a popular blogster but a super-duper humanista! Her recent blogs on memoirs are one of the best memoir pieces I’ve read so far. And she is a superb human being who encourages other blogsters immensely, making them believe they are super stars! She is and will always remain ‘the special one’ for me!

This award has quite a few rules. Here they are:

Rules:

-Give a brief story about how your blog got started

-Give a few words of advice to other bloggers

-Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.

-Make sure to attach the picture of the award (Either hold down or right click on photo at bottom of page, save the photo and insert it into the post and provide source if you feel needed)

  • Nominate 15 other bloggers to give the award to (not including yourself or the person(s) who nominated you . Like Neerja I am changing the rule and nominating only 3.
  • Let the bloggers nominated know they have been nominated and provide a link to the award post. Since most bloggers know the ones I am nominating, I am refraining from the link thing! (To be honest, providing links is too cumbersome for me!)

Let there be light: 

Strangely enough, I’ve never been an English writer as such. In 2nd Standard I got 100 out of 100 in English and my entire family was left rejoicing – thinking that the next Shakespeare would be from Mukherji family! Sadly my graph went down and down post that day and I became an average student! On the contrary, though I had hardly studied Bengali for 4 years, my grip over creative writing in Bengali was superb. That was perhaps due to the fact that my grandma was a good enough Bengali author and much of my achievement was a handiwork of my good genes from grandma! That my English was equally strong was first revealed when I was in 12th Standard. Our Vice-Principal was our English teacher. She did not mark my English essay in our first term examinations. ‘Meet me in my room’, she thundered. When I went to meet her, she asked, ” Are you sure you wrote this essay all by yourself?” “Yes Maam!” , I squeaked ! (“Who else will write for me during exams?”, I wanted to ask her!). Her suspicion still wouldn’t wean away, “Well, if you have written it yourself, I must say, this is the most brilliant original piece I’ve read. And I am compelled to give you 20 on 20!” My heart was in my mouth and I could hardly mumble a ‘Thank You’. My family was once again convinced that Shakespeare, for sure, was born in Mukherji family! But once again, that was not to be! My good English marks never translated to my creative best! I became a good Bengali writer instead. My connection with English writing actually began with a tiff in my office. ‘No more Bengali stories in our in-house magazine!’, it was decided during a meeting one day…I was upset and dejected. And that is when I decided to try my hand in English writing…I came across a site yourstoryclub.com. And thus began my journey into the world of English writing. It is there that I made some brilliant friends: Hema, Tejas, Bala, Kavya, Priyakshi, Deloret, Bulusu Sir, Nanditadi, Shakil Bhai….They changed my perspective about myself and my writing…Some of them had awesome blogs and I timidly followed them! I really don’t know what to write about and hence I resort to memoirs……I am way behind them but this has been one of the best decisions I have taken about myself….I got some very talented friends in blogosphere – Neerja, Nimzy, Deeps….who are now my friends for life!

Let the light shine brighter…..

Being a newbie myself, I hardly have any advice to offer…..Only one thing, write not to be popular or what appeals to others; write for yourself! The journey of writing should begin with yourself and end with yourself.Remember, unlike any other medium, a blog is a personal diary that is made public, so be honest to yourself and write what you want to write. Though “likes” and “comments” make a huge difference, at the end of the day, YOU should be happy about your writing….Let the light shine brighter……

And my nominations are:

  1. Hema
  2. Tejas
  3. Mahua
19 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. First I would get over with Thanking you for nominating me. I would try to come up with a post for this as soon as I can.
    Coming to this post of yours, generally I have seen the award posts to be stereotype and monotonous. But, this!? It has got a the sprinkle of creativity in it. A little story of a little Shakespeare and how she turned out to be a fabulous writer. Though you don’t allow me to term you as a “writer” you can not deny the fact that you are one gem of a creative writer. I am so glad that you have started this blog. Even though most of the posts that you have put to the world here so far are familiar and already read, they still give me equal amount of excitement and pleasant sensation. I would love to see this blog grow from a seed to a banyan tree in years to come. Stay at it! God Bless you and may the Sunshine keep shining on this tea cup. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aaah…come on….you know how much of my writing journey is you bro’! You started your blog and I was so inspired that I followed suit…but can never match your dedication! But much more than anything I am so glad I got to know the ‘person’ you…From push to motivation, from scolding to advising, my life is so much indebted to you bro’! Remember those few days of black-out from the internet ? Those were the days I realised what importance you hold in my life….I am grateful to God for having gifted a buddy like you! Thank you forever….

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow 🙂 Sri I loved your story so far 🙂 You gave it a beautiful title “Let there be light ” How interesting it is to know the beautiful part of someone you feel so close 🙂 I think your teacher got you right then 🙂 Sometime we our self ignore our talent but some good people notice it and bring it out for our benefit 🙂 And sometime the situations you despise brings light and beauty in your life 🙂 Glad you chose to come up on WP and I got the honor of knowing you ❤ And what a great way to say Be You 🙂 ❤ and thank you for all the good words you showered on me 🙂 You know ho much you mean to me ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sri.. 🙂
    The Shakespeare.. 🙂
    First of all, I love you.. ❤ 🙂 ❤
    You are destined to be a writer.. You are born to lit up our days with your sunshine.. Sunshine with words.. Grateful to your Grandma for having a writer gene in your family..Thank You to your teacher for finding that extraordinary writer in you.. Even in Bengali or in English you are born to write Sri.. ❤
    Keep on writing.. So happy to hear your writer journey till.. 🙂
    Too grateful to WP for giving me an opportunity to meet a wonderful person like you.. 🙂
    Long live this great soul!!
    Keep writing & Stay blessed!!
    Love You.. 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: Blogger Recognition Award | Knots of Thoughts

Leave a Reply

